Anton Dvorak - Šubrtová • Žídek • Haken • Prague National Theatre • Zdeněk Chalabala - Rusalka (Opera in 3 Acts, Op.114)

Anton Dvorak
Šubrtová • Žídek • Haken • Prague National Theatre • Zdeněk Chalabala - Rusalka (Opera in 3 Acts, Op.114)
Label: Cantus Classics ‎– 8.00125, Cantus Classics ‎– CACD 8.00125 F
Type: 2 x CD, Album, Reissue, Remastered
Country: Germany
Date of released: Jan 1995
Category: Classical
Style: Romantic, Opera


Rusalka, Opera, B. 203 (Op. 114)
1-1 Overture
Act I.
1-2 "Ho, Ho, Ho!" (Three Dryads, The Watersprite)
1-3 "Watersprite, My Father Dear!" (Rusalka, The Watersprite)
1-4 "He Comes Here Frequently" (Rusalka, The Watersprite)
1-5 "O, Moon High Up In The Deep Sky" (Rusalka, The Watersprite, Ježibaba)
1-6 "Your Ancient Wisdom Knows Everything" (Rusalka, Ježibaba)
1-7 "Abracadabra!" (Ježibaba, The Watersprite, The Hunter)
1-8 "Here She Appeared And Again Disappeared!" (The Prince, The Hunter)
1-9 "The Hunt Is Over, Return Home At Once" (The Prince, The Naiads, The Watersprite)
1-10 "I know you're but magic that will pass" (The Prince)
Act II.
1-11 "Well Then, My Dear Boy" (The Gamekeeper, The Turnspit)
1-12 "A Week Now Do You Dwell With Me" (The Prince, The Foreign Princess)
1-13 "Festive Music. Ballet.
2-1 "No One In This World Can Give You" (The Watersprite)
2-2 "White Blossoms All Along The Road" (Chorus, The Watersprite)
2-3 "Rusalka, Daughter, I Am Here!" (The Watersprite, Rusalka)
2-4 "Strange Fire In Your Eyes Is Burning" (The Foreign Princess, The Prince, The Watersprite)
Act III.
2-5 "Insensible Water Power" (Rusalka)
2-6 "Ah, Ah! Already You Have Come Back?" (Ježibaba, Rusalka)
2-7 "Uprooted And Banished" (Rusalka, The Naiads)
2-8 "That You're Afraid? Don't Be Silly" (The Gamekeeper, The Turnspit, Ježibaba, The Watersprite)
2-9 "Hair, Golden Hair Have I" (Three Dryads, The Watersprite)
2-10 "Where Are You, My White Doe?" (The Prince)
2-11 Act Iii. "Do You Still Know Me, Lover?" (Rusalka, The Prince, The Watersprite)

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At – Studio Domovina
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Supraphon


  • Alto Vocals [The Dryad] – Věra Krilová
  • Alto Vocals [The Witch, Ježibaba] – Marie Ovčačíková
  • Baritone Vocals [The Game-keeper] – Jiří Joran
  • Baritone Vocals [The Hunter] – Václav Bednář
  • Bass Vocals [The Waterspirite] – Eduard Haken
  • Chorus – Prague National Chorus*
  • Chorus Master – Milan Malý
  • Composed By – Antonín Dvořák
  • Conductor – Zdeněk Chalabala
  • Editor – Jana Smékalová
  • Engineer – František Burda
  • Libretto By – Jaroslav Kvapil
  • Mezzo-soprano Vocals [The Foreign Princess] – Alena Míková
  • Orchestra – Prague National Orchestra*
  • Recording Supervisor – Ladislav Šíp
  • Soprano Vocals [Rusalka] – Milada Šubrtová
  • Soprano Vocals [The Dryad] – Eva Hlobilová, Jadwiga Wysoczanská
  • Soprano Vocals [The Turnspit] – Ivana Mixová
  • Tenor Vocals [The Prince] – Ivo Žídek


℗ 1962 Original Recording Supraphon Prag © 1994 Cantus Classics

Recorded at the Domovina Studio, Prague, from 15 November to 2 December, 1961.
Digital remastering: 1994 Wieland Haas / SWT Südwest-Tonstudio

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 4032280012530
  • Label Code: LC 3982
  • SPARS Code: AAD
  • Rights Society: D.P.